Victory for Joel Heinrich to end opening round at Mount Panorama

Reigning Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series winner Joel Heinrich has taken his second victory of the weekend at Bathurst to complete the opening event of the season.

Heinrich guided the Osborn’s Transport entry across the line in a finish under safety car from MTA NSW’s Kody Garland and Western Sydney Motorsport/Thrifty-supported Cody Brewczynski.

A variety of incidents led to the third and final race ending under safety car in what was an extended event due to the cancellation of Race 3 yesterday.

Heinrich won the start and set about extending his margin as the field climbed, then swept across the mountain, but the chasing pack led by Chapman proved a close contest.

Chapman was under attack from Koan Solution driver Anthony DiMauro as the latter took second at The Chase, with MTA NSW’s Kody Garland moving forward to third as another to progress was Cody Brewczynski in fifth. Brandon Madden for Riskie Racing was also flying bringing Nathan Williams and the Norganic Proteins entry of Kent Quinn for the ride.

DiMauro running a strong fourth had a collision and dropped out as Chapman continued to fall down the field due to a rubbing tyre.

A 2.614s margin was enjoyed at the head of the field by Heinrich as Garland was clear of Brewczynski after being delayed yesterday, but Rookie Cup leader Mason Harvey in the Corish Motorsport entry was the star of the race in fourth.

Madden was also in the battle as he sat fifth from the Diesel Express entry of Kyle Ensbey and Masters Cup leader Quinn.

Following an engine problem yesterday, Corish Motorsports’ Josh Anderson continued to make a strong recovery drive to be inside the top 10 as Chapman continued to hold on from Rookie Cup runner up Jordan Freestone and Williams.

At the front, the lap record continued to be lowered leaving the margin being reduced between Heinrich, Garland and Brewczynski.

The gap was closed due to the introduction of the safety car when first Desmond Collier spun at The Esses contacting the wall, before Grant Thompson of Western Sydney Motorsport parked the Thrifty-sponsored entry approaching the The Chase due to a fire.

Also among this, Chapman parked the CoolDrive Racing presented by Guardian Interlock Services entry on Conrod Straight.

This forced an early end to proceedings as Heinrich led Garland, Brewczynski, Rookie Cup winner Harvey, Madden, Ensbey, Quinn, Anderson, Freestone and Williams.

Rookie Cup honours went to Harvey from Freestone and Asher Johnston in the Johnston Craill Racing Enterprises entry.

Quinn led the way in Masters Cup from Bret Osborn and Troy Jones in the second CoolDrive Racing presented by Guardian Interlock Services entry.

Scott Dornan just missed a top 10 berth for Action Line Marking, but completed the sweep in Gold Cup from Property Compliance Australia’s Matt Gooding and Joseph Andriske of Riskie Racing.

The next round of the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series will be at Queensland Raceway on April 26-28 supporting the Australian Superbike Championship.

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27