Two from two for Joel Heinrich in Townsville

Osborn’s Transport driver Joel Heinrich has doubled up in Round 4 of the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series in Townsville.

Although provided with an early challenge, Heinrich built a 3.8s advantage to defeat MTA NSW’s Kody Garland and the Western Sydney Motorsport entry of Cody Brewczynski.

It was an even start between Heinrich and Garland on the front row, but it was the latter moving around the outside at Turn 2 taking the lead.

Standard Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series action was occurring behind as Brewczynski moved to second and started to close on Garland, with Heinrich right behind.

Moving through the field quickly aiming to reverse his fortunes so far this weekend was Guardian Interlock System/Motorsport25’s Reece Chapman climbing 16 positions after three laps.

Brewczynski succeeded in snatching the lead from Garland at Turn 2 on lap 4, but Heinrich followed to put pressure on the Western Sydney Motorsport driver. An attempt to pass at Turn 11 just failed for Heinrich and another at Turn 2 also didn’t come off.

Heinrich finally made the pass after a superb exit through Turn 6, but the battle was still on as Brewczynski remained in touch.

The battle for the final podium slot was heating up between Koan Solutions’ Anthony DiMauro, leading Rookie Cup runner Mason Harvey for Corish Motorsports and Garland.

DiMauro was on the charge and had caught the two leaders make it a triple threat fight for the win. Tough defence from Heinrich allowed DiMauro to switchback exiting Turn 2 to demote Brewczysnki to third.

Garland returned to form to join the battle for the minor podium spots first disposing of Brewczynski, then DiMauro leaving Heinrich to skip out to a 1.6s advantage.

A crash for Corish Motorsports driver Jordan Freestone exiting Turn 12 on the penultimate lap left a passing opportunity under caution, though the battle for the minors heated up.

Heinrich took the win from Garland, Brewczynski, DiMauro and Ryan Reynolds rounded out the top five.

Riskie Racing’s Brandon Madden was sixth from the Skin First Skin Cancer Clinics entry of Peter Carr, Masters Cup winner Kent Quinn for Norganic Proteins in a stunning charge, Rookie Cup leader Joseph Andriske and Detour Coaches’ Zac Schonberger completed the top 10.

Andriske also secured Gold Cup from Property Compliance Australia’s Matt Gooding and Paul Morris following a 5s post-race penalty was applied to the latter.

Western Sydney Motorsport’s Craig Thompson and the City Sweep Racing entry of Chris Mercer trailed Quinn in Masters Cup.

Behind Andriske in Rookie Cup was Schonberger TFH Racing’s Diesel Thomas.

The Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series continues with Race 3 tomorrow at 8:40am AEST.

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27