Spirited comeback drive gives Cody Brewczynski final race win in Townsville

Shell Rimula Topgun Race Team’s Cody Brewczynski has made a superb comeback following an engine problem in Race 2 to win the final event for the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series in Townsville.

It was a Team CoolDrive front row for the final race as Motorsport 25’s Reece Chapman took the lead from Perenso Racing driver Josh Anderson, but this swapped approaching Turn 3.

Nathan Williams was one left behind at Turn 2 as he spun and was collected by Steve Jakic in the Black Diamond Building and Construction entry.

Anderson continued to lead ahead of Chapman as he held off Adam Uebergang in the Arcadia Village Motel entry, but the two made contact at the final corner spinning the Team CoolDrive/Motorsport 25 Mustang.

However, Uebergang was the cause of the first safety car as contact from Anthony DiMauro behind in the Koan Solutions Camaro led to the Arcadia Village Motel entry finished in the fence at Turn 8.

As the race was neutralised the order was led by Anderson from DiMauro, Norganic Proteins’ Kent Quinn, Cody Brewczynski in the Shell Rimula Topgun Race Team Mustang, while the Rookie Cup battle between Scott Dornan in the Action Line Marking entry and Riskie Racing’s Brandon Madden.

The big movers on the restart were Quinn and Brewczynski as the latter made contact with DiMauro entering Turn 2.

Chapman was charging back to be fifth and pressuring DiMauro as Brewczynski advanced to second as he demoted Quinn.

Anderson was targeting his first win of the season, but with three laps remaining Brewczynski was closing as Chapman and the Osborn’s Transport Mustang of current series leader Joel Heinrich overtook DiMauro.

Heinrich’s run in this battle ended when Western Sydney Motorsport’s Craig Woods made heavy contact at Turn 7 after an apparent mechanical problem.

Brewczynski meanwhile took the lead from Anderson and quickly built a margin on the final lap to take his second win of the weekend as Chapman provisionally takes the round win in third.

Rookie Cup once again went to Brandon Madden in fourth for Riskie Racing from DiMauro, Heinrich, TFH Hire’s Scott Andriske, Jon McCorkindale in the Dial Before You Dig entry, Phillips & Co Automotive Sheridan Phillips and Cody Mckay completed the top 10.

Rookie Cup was won by Madden from Andriske and McCorkindale, as Phillips took Gold Cup from Jeff Watters for Fight MND and the Variety Motorsport Camaro of Brendon Tucker.

Scott O’Keefe in his MSS Group/O’Keefe Motorsports Mustang took the Masters Cup after a late-race incident for Quinn dropped him out. The podium was completed by the second Osborn’s Transport Mustang of Brett Osborn and Carey Joy in the Joytech/JoyTrack 24-7 Camaro.

The final round of the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series crosses the ditch to New Zealand in celebration of Highland Motorsport Park’s 10 year anniversary on November 3-5.

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27