Round 6 The Bend Race Wraps

Coming into the penultimate round for the 2022 Battery World Aussie Racing Car Super Series the top three drivers were only separated by 2 points, in the lead was Josh Anderson with 239 points from Reece Chapman & Lachlan Ward both with 237 points.

Josh was quick straight out of the truck with fastest in practice, he took pole in qualifying and won the first race of the weekend, chasing him all weekend was Reece and Lachlan, Reece would finish the weekend down in 7th after a few struggles, Lachy would come home in third, Josh had to settle for second as Kody Garland took the top spoils for the weekend after having two race wins, the final race win went to Ryan Reynolds.



After a first lap crash, the fourth and final race for round five of the Battery World Aussie Racing Car Super Series was a thriller. It was won by Kody Garland who took the round win as well.

In the charge through the opening lap, Garland (MTA NSW Mustang) led from the two Cooldrive Mustangs driven by Reece Chapman and Josh Anderson. Chapman was soon shuffled down the order.

Meanwhile towards the back Matt Gooding (Camaro) and Mark Griffith tangled at turn sixteen with the latter’s Euro GT going through a sequence of barrel rolls. Testament to the safety of these cars, Griffith was able to walk away.

After the resumption of racing, it was on with several positional changes among the top eight where at the back of the Chapman was struggling with some damage.

Over the last couple of laps Garland, Anderson and Lachlan Ward (Productivity Bootcamp Camaro) pulled clear and finished line astern, covered by 0.12 seconds. Ryan Reynolds (Shell Rimula Mustang) was fourth ahead of the two Local Legend entries of Courtney Prince (Mustang) and Ryder Quinn (Euro GT).

They were followed to the flag by Joel Heinrich (Osborns Transport Cruze), Jack Boyd (Palmer’s Altima), Rylan Gray (Bilstein Camaro) and tenth placed Cody Brewczynski (Shell Rimula Mustang). Then came Brett Osborn (Camaro), Matt Forbes-Wilson (Camaro), Cody Mckay (Commodore) and a damaged Anthon Di Mauro Camaro after an early off.

Race three was the tradition reverse top ten from the second race finish with Brett Osborn and Ryan Reynolds on the front row. Reynolds grabbed to lead after the start and lit out for a comfortable victory.

Osborn was second at the end of the first lap before he fell down the order as the fast drivers forged through. Ward took over second and pushed away from his rivals who were mixing it up in his wake.

Chapman went to third ahead of Garland, and Heinrich until those two had contact out of turn one on lap four. Garland spun while Heinrich found a way around Chapman for a brief period. On the final lap Chapman and Anderson were able to head Heinrich home before the latter was penalised.

That elevated Prince to fifth ahead of Garland who rebounded quickly, Di Mauro, Brewczynski. Heinrich was classified ninth ahead of Quinn, Osborn and Boyd. Unfortunately Gray had to be towed off the grid before the race started with a broken tailshaft.


In the two races of round six of the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series, Josh Anderson and Kody Garland were celebrating as they each scored a first and a second.

Pole sitter Anderson (Cooldrive Mustang) had a fight on his hands in the opening laps of the first race before he took the lead on lap three and drove away to a 3.1 second advantage over his nearest rival.

Joel Heinrich was the best away at the start of the eight-lap opener with Garland in second spot. However the race was soon over for Heinrich when his Osborns Transport Cruze fired off the track with a broken front control arm pick-up point.

Garland (MTA NSW Mustang) briefly took over the lead before he crossed the finish line second ahead of Ryan Reynolds (Shell Rimula Mustang). Reece Chapman (Cooldrive Mustang) headed the battle for fourth.

It was a six-way stoush for much of the race that ultimately saw Anthony Di Mauro (Camaro) emerged ahead of Cody Brewczynski (Mustang), Rylan Gray (Bilstein Camaro), Lachlan Ward (Productivity Bootcamp Camaro) and Courtney Prince (Local Legends Mustang).

Gray was issued a ten-second penalty which relegated him to tenth behind Jack Boyd (Falcon). Eleventh was Leigh Bowler (Camaro) from Brett Osborn (Camaro), Cody Mckay (Commodore) and Ryder Quinn (Euro GT) who started at the rear of the grid.

After a great start, Garland led the second race from start to finish, as he withstood the challenge from Chapman for the majority of the race. Chapman bounded out the blocks into second place ahead of Anderson in the identically turned out Mustang.

Behind them an incident that involved teammates Brewczynski and Reynolds, and Di Mauro, at turn six brought out the safety car as Brewczynski could not re-join.

After the race resumption, Garland and Chapman skipped clear while Prince headed a five-way scrap for third which included Heinrich who had charged from the rear of the grid.

Garland gapped Chapman on the last lap and the latter lost out to Anderson. Prince also dropped places as Heinrich, Ward and Gray slipped past.

Behind them it was Boyd ahead of Reynolds in a good comeback, and Osborn who will start the reverse top ten race three from pole position. Then came Bowler, Quinn, Mckay and Kent Quinn (Aurion).

The final round of the 2022 Super Series is in three weeks time when the Aussie Cars head to Sandown, its the first time the class has been there for over 10 years, it may also be the last time as we are unsure when and for how long racing will continue at Sandown. Once again we will be joining the Supercars, this time for the Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint.

Round 6 Podium

1st Outright Kody Garland

2nd Outright Josh Anderson

3rd Outright Lachlan Ward

Rookie Cup Lachlan Ward

Masters Cup Brett Osborn

Gold Cup Adam Clark

Our Local Legends Jerky Local Legend is Jack Boyd

You can see all of the images in our Facebook gallery here from The Bend.

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27