Reece Chapman starts the season off with victory at Bathurst

CoolDrive Racing Presented by Guardian Interlock Services driver Reece Chapman has taken the first race win of the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series at Bathurst.

In a close finish, Chapman made a final lap move to defeat Osborn’s Transport driver and reigning series winner Joel Heinrich as Cody Brewczynski dropped to third at the final corner in the Western Sydney Motorsport/Thrifty entry.

It was Heinrich getting the best of the start, but Brewczynski, Koan Solutions’ Anthony DiMauro and Chapman were all in close proximity as the leaders began to climb the mountain.

A gap emerged on the descent down Conrod Straight as Brewczynski and Chapman were battling for second in a slip-stream contest as the duo at Murray’s Corner closed on the leader. Leaving DiMauro behind to the tune of 1.5s, the lead trio spectacularly flew across the top of the mountain as Heinrich managed to build a small margin heading into Forrest’s Elbow.

Brewczynski was able to catch and challenge Heinrich into The Chase as Chapman dropped back making it a lead duo.

It was Kyle Ensbey in the Diesel Express entry maintaining the final spot in the top five and he was challenging DiMauro bringing returnee Kody Garland in addition to Corish Motorsport’s Josh Anderson along for the ride.

It was a 6s gap from third to fourth, which was now Ensbey after demoting DiMauro down to fifth as the field was due another shake up before the chequered flag flew.

It started when Chapman caught back up to Brewczynski and Heinrich on the penultimate lap resulting in multiple positional changes culminating in a thrilling final lap contest. Chapman made his move at The Chase to lead on exit, but Brewczynski had one last dip at Murray’s Corner and ended up touring the gravel trap to finish third behind Heinrich.

It was just as frantic behind the lead battle as 2022Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series winner Josh Anderson snatched fourth from Garland, Ensbey, DiMauro and Corish Motorsports’ Mason Harvey.

In fact, Harvey won Rookie Cup in eighth leading homeBrandon Madden and class rival Jordan Freestone.

Masters Cup leader was Kent Quinn in the Norganic Proteinsentry from Osborn’s Transport driver Brett Osborn and Johnston Craill Racing Enterprises contender Asher Johnston.

Behind Harvey and Freestone in Rookie Cup was also Johnston, leaving Scott Dornan to continue his strong run in Gold Cup for Action Line Marking. Behind, Riskie Racing’s Joseph Andriske and Fight MND’s Jeff Watters completed the results.

Two races will follow tomorrow with the weekend’s second at 7:50am AEDT and the third at 11:05am AEDT live on Fox Sports in addition to Kayo.

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27