Pole for reigning series winner Josh Anderson in Darwin

Team CoolDrive/Perenso Racing’s Josh Anderson has taken pole position for Round 4 of the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Series in Darwin, though title rival Joel Heinrich will line up for tomorrow morning’s opening race.

In an interrupted session due to an incident for Western Sydney Motorsport’s Grant Thompson entering the Turn 6 hairpin, Anderson set a time of 1m 17.087s on his first flying lap before the stoppage, which proved good enough.

Series leader Heinrich in the Osborn’s Transport Mustang was0.224s off Anderson’s pace as Rookie Cup contender Brandon Madden for Riskie Racing continued his impressive form in the category since joining at Queensland Raceway to set the third quickest time.

Fastest in practice, Cody Brewczynski was fourth in the Shell Rimula Topgun Race Team entry from Team CoolDrive/Motorsport25 driver Reece Chapman, Anthony Di Mauro for Koan Solutions, Western Sydney Motorsport’s Craig Thompson in the lead of Gold Cup, Brendon Tucker of Variety Motorsport and rookie duo Scott Dornan of Action Line Marking ahead of Nathan Williams.

Qualifying in the Rookie Class will ensure a close battle between Madden, Dornan and Williams, while Gold Cup is between Thompson, Tucker as well as Sheridan Phillips in the Phillips & Co Automotive Camaro in 15th.

Kent Quinn was unable to repeat his top 10 result in practice as he scored 12th outright, but still led the Masters Cup from Scott O’Keefe for MSS Group/O’Keefe Motorsport in 19th and Grant Thompson right behind.

Among the returning drivers to the grid, Adam Uebergang in the Arcadia Village Motel-supported Camaro was 11th, while former Olympian John Steffensen was 14th in the Western Sydney Motorsport Mustang.

Saturday action for the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series Round 4 at Hidden Valley consists of three races starting with the opener at 9:25am, the second at 10:55am and the third from 1:40pm. All times in ACST, add 30 minutes for AEST.

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27