Josh Anderson takes pole in Newcastle

Reigning Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series winner Josh Anderson has secured the first pole position of the 2023 season on the streets of Newcastle.

Anderson set a 1m 21.421s lap early in the session, with closest pursuer Joel Heinrich in the Osborn’s Transport entry falling just0.014s shy in what is expected to be an extremely hard fought contest this weekend.

Behind the lead pair was last year’s runner up Lachlan Ward, while MTA NSW supported Kody Garland headed the lead rookie Rylan Gray, making his first appearance in the category after joining from the Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia 86 Series.

Western Sydney Motorsport’s Craig Woods will start sixth from Anthony DiMauro for Koan Solutions, Reece Chapman in the second CoolDrive Racing entry, Shell Rimula Topgun Race Team’s Cody Brewczynski and Masters Cupleader Kent Quinn completed the top 10 driving the Norgani Proteins Ford Mustang.

Behind Quinn in Masters Cup was Troy Jones in 15threpresenting Motorsport25/Pro Cool Racing and Grant Thompson for Western Sydney Motorsport.

Matt Gooding in the PCA/MGR Racing in the Chevrolet Camaro was on top in Gold Class from Western Sydney Motorsport’s Craig Thompson and leader in this morning’s practice session Jeff Watters in his Fight MND Ford Mustang.

For those keeping up with the fortunes of the novocastrians,McKay led the way from Women’s Cup leader Charlotte Poynting in 14th,while Nova Air and Electrical’s Michael Sherwell was 18th after a small skirmish. Rounding out the quartet of local drivers, rookie Shaun Martin placed 33rd.

The Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series action continues tomorrow with the opening race of four scheduled across the weekend at 9:50am AEDT.

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27