Joel Heinrich takes win in interrupted Race 2 at Bathurst

Reigning Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series winner Joel Heinrich has opened his account in 2024 by taking victory in Race 2,holding off rivals Reece Chapman and Kyle Ensbey in a one-lap dash.

In a heavily interrupted second event of the weekend, Heinrich’s superior pace across the top of the Mountain ensured a large margin exiting Forrest’s Elbow to set-up victory.

Chapman and Heinrich made a mega start each of the front-row as Western Sydney Motorsport/Thrifty’s Cody Brewczynski was swallowed up by Diesel Express driver Ensbey in addition to 2022 series winner Josh Anderson at The Cutting.

The fight for the lower positions inside the top 10 was on by the time the field reached The Chase as Koan Solutions driver Anthony DiMauro slid down the inside of Brewczynski, with Nathan Williams and Riskie Racing’s Brandon Madden.

However, the race was neutralised due to two mechanical problems for separate drivers as first Cody McKay was slow at Griffin’s Bend, but further up the road Anderson exited the race after dropping fluid. This resulted in Grant Thompson spinning near McKay at Griffin’s Bend making contact with the inside wall in one of three Western Sydney Motorsport/Thrifty entries.

A further incident as the field was coming under control of the safety car occurred at The Esses as Josh Thomas for TFH Hire contacted Denis Butler in the Team Grand Racing/Butler Fabrication entry leading to the latter spinning.

A loose brake duct across the top was also collected by oneof the circuit marshals at The Dipper as Anderson’s Corish Motorsport entry was collected from Reid Park.

Heinrich led from Chapman, Ensbey, DiMauro, lead Rookie Cup contender Mason Harvey for Corish Motorsport was fifth, reigning Masters Cup winner Kent Quinn was next and Nathan Williams was enjoying a strong run in seventh. Madden, Garland and Brewczynski rounded out the top 10.

The safety car pulled in leading to a one-lap dash Heinrich maintained the lead from Chapman despite pressure from Ensbey, but a push from DiMauro allowed the CoolDrive Racing presented by Guardian Interlock Services entry to hold second.

Heinrich has been class on the descent all weekend and this continued in Race 2 by taking victory by 1.384s from Chapman, Ensbey, DiMauro, Harvey, Garland, Quinn, Madden, Williams and Brewczynski, who despite dropping back will start the third race from pole.

Harvey was winner of the Rookie Cup from Corish Motorsports teammate Jordan Freestone in 11th and Johnston Craill Racing Enterprises’ Asher Johnston.

Quinn was winner in Masters Cup clear of the second Osborn’s Transport entry of Bret Osborn in 12th and Johnston just a position behind.

Action Line Marking’s Scott Dornan continued his domination of Gold Cup in 14th outright as Joseph Andriske in the second Riskie Racing entry and Property Compliance Australia’s Matt Gooding completed the top three.

The third race of the weekend will feature an inverted top 10 as Brewczynski will start from pole at 11:05am AEDT.

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27