Joel Heinrich takes finale in the Apple Isle

It was an action packed final race for the Battery World Aussie Racing Car Super Series at Symmons Plains, but it was Joel Heinrich in the Osborn’s Transport Mustang taking the victory.

Constant pressure from Team CoolDrive/Motorsport 25 driver Reece Chapman made the job harder for Heinrich as he extends his series lead as Rookie Cup winner Rylan Gray turned it around for the final race to complete the podium.

Despite a mid-race safety car, Heinrich and Chapman were dominant at the head of the field as Team CoolDrive/Perenso Racing’s Josh Anderson recovered from a 15s penalty after he was found by the stewards to have passed under yellow flags in Race 3 to finish fourth.

Riskie Racing’s Brandon Madden completed an impressive second weekend in the Battery World Aussie Racing Car Super Series to finish fifth ahead of the experienced James Ward as he secured Gold Cup honours in the ASAP Marketing Mustang.

Ryder Quinn concluded his maiden weekend in the category in seventh driving the Black Diamond Building and Construction Euro GT usually driven by Steve Jakic. He came back after contact from Anthony Di Mauro for Koan Solutions exiting the hairpin, which also led to clipping the wall.

Western Sydney Motorsport’s Craig Thompson was second in Gold Cup holding off Matt Gooding in the PCA/MGR Racing, which completed thetop 10.

Troubles for Kent Quinn hampered his charge through the field as Grant Thompson took Masters Cup honours. Quinn still managed tofinished second just edging Andrew Lorgelly in the Muscle Motor Trimmers Euro GT.

Rookie Cup was won by Gray from Madden and Quinn, as Gold Cup success went to Ward from Thompson, with Gooding just behind.

The next round of the Battery World Aussie Racing Car Super Series is at Hidden Valley Raceway, Darwin on June 16-18.

No items found.
Go Back
2023 Race Schedule
Round 1
Thrifty Newcastle 500
Repco Supercars Championship
Mar 10-12
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 28-30
Round 3
NED Whisky Tasmania SuperSprint
Repco Supercars Championship
May 19-21
Round 4
Betr Darwin Triple Crown
Repco Supercars Championship
Jun 16-18
Round 5
NTI Townsville 500
Repco Supercars Championship
Jul 7-9
Round 6
Highlands Motorsport Park, New Zealand
10th Anniversary of Highlands
Nov 3-5