Joel Heinrich on pole in Adelaide after shortened qualifying session

Local driver Joel Heinrich will start the opening race of the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars event from pole after setting the finishingon top during a shortened qualifying session on the streets of Adelaide.

Heinrich set a 1m 32.548s in the Osborn’s Transport Ford Mustang to edge recent Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series winner Josh Anderson by just 0.021s driving the similar CoolDrive Racing entry.

MTA NSW/Valvoline’s Kody Garland was third just 0.366s off Heinrich’s pace, while it didn’t take series returnee Peter Carr long to get up to speed byf inishing fourth in the Mona Vale Medical Centre Mustang in what was a closely fought session until the 11-minute mark.

However, the session ended early as Ian Chivas crashed into the wall head-on at Turn 9 severely damaging the Chivas Motorsport Nissan Altima as the session was ended under a red flag.

The top six were covered by a second as lead rookie Cody Brewczynski in the shell Rimula Top Gun Race Team Mustang and the second CoolDrive entry of Reece Chapman.

Kyle Ensbey followed in his Ford Mustang to be seventh from Anthony DiMauro in the first Camaro for Koan Solutions, Western Sydney Motorsport driver Craig Woods in an Altima and Jack Boyd rounded out the top 10in the Palmer’s Australia Toyota Aurion.

Gold Cup leader Adam Clarke just missed the top 10 in the Lustre Bar Melbourne Camaro to head class contenders Jeff Watters and Scott Taylor.

Leigh Bowler continued his stint at the top of the Masters Cup standings driving the Supergroups Camaro placing 14th outright, while Troy Jones was 16th and second in class, while Scott O'Keefe is a position behind.

Emma Clark in the Ritual Biohacking Ford Mustang finished on top in the Ladies Cup from rookie Imogen Radburn.

The Battery World Aussie Racing Cars will return to the Adelaide Parklands Street Circuit for Race 1 at 11:55am.  

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27