Aussie Racing Cars Return To Bathurst

The Aussie Racing Cars are set to return to Mount Panorama Bathurst in 2020 as the support class to the Bathurst 12 Hour, the opening round of the 2020 Intercontinental GT Challenge, January 31-February 2 for the first round of our 21st Year.  The balance of the calendar, 6 more rounds will be revealed in coming days.

The pocket rockets last raced the famous circuit in 2015 in support of the Supercars which saw 33 cars line up, the plan for 2020 is to trump that with a capacity grid.

The Bathurst 12Hour posted our welcome today:

The ever-popular Aussie Racing Cars will join a packed on-track program for the first time next year.

Organisers have promised ‘wall-to-wall’ track activity in between Bathurst 12 Hour sessions across the weekend, with Aussie Racing Cars to be joined by the Wake Up Hostels Combined Sedans and Group S Historic Touring Cars on the racing undercard.

Celebrating their 20th anniversary this year, Aussie Racing Cars are one of the longest running and most successful categories in Australian Motorsport and will make a highly anticipated return to Mount Panorama next year.

The category last competed on the Mountain in 2015, with their racing hallmarked by epic slipstreaming battles both up and down the mountain and last corner passes for victory.

Combined Sedans – a grid comprised of TA2, Sports Sedans, Improved Production and ex-Supercars – has already confirmed a full 55-car field while the classic Group S machinery will add further diversity to the event undercard.

More unique on-track action will be announced closer to the event.

“We’re pleased to welcome Aussie Racing Cars to the program. The category provides non-stop action and the 12-Hour is an ideal showcase for them to commence their 2020 season as they launch into their third decade.said Bathurst 12 Hour Event Manager, Kurt Sakzewski.

This weekend the Aussie Racing cars have their penultimate round on the streets of the Gold Coast with the final round in four weeks time at the Newcastle 500.

No items found.
Go Back
2022 Race Schedule
Round 1
Sydney Motorsport Park
March 4-6
Round 2
Symmons Plains, TAS
March 26-27
Round 3
Australian Super Bike Championship
Wakefield Park, NSW
April 22-24
Round 4
Bathurst 12 Hour
Mount Panorama, NSW
May 13-15
Round 5
Winton Raceway, VIC
May 20-22
Round 6
The Bend, SA
July 29-31
Round 7
Sandown Raceway, VIC
August 19-21