Rookie Brandon Madden wins at Queensland Raceway

Queensland Raceway once again provided a Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series thriller as Rookie Cup’s Brandon Madden took a narrow victory from Joel Heinrich to end his undefeated streak.

Driving the Riskie Racing/Harvey’s Towing Chevrolet Camaro, Madden held off Heinrich in the Osborn’s Transport Ford Mustang to the tune of just 0.131s. CoolDrive/Perenso Racing’s Josh Anderson was also just 0.396sbehind the leader in what was a trademark close finish for the category

MTA NSW/Valvoline's Kody Garland was a little way back in fourth as he held off Rookie Cup contender Rylan Gray in fifth by just 0.145s,with Kyle Ensbey alongside just falling 0.005s short and debutant Lachlan Bloxsom was a further 0.021 in arrears driving the Team Navy entry.

Reece Chapman was in recovery mode following an incident during the opening race and made it to eighth in the CoolDrive Racing/Motorsport 25entry ahead of Masters Cup winner Kent Quinn for Norganic Proteins, with Lachlan Ward completing the top 10 in his Ford Mustang.

The Rookie Cup podium was rounded out by Nathan Williams in12th following race winner Madden and Gray.

Grant Thompson for Thrifty Western Sydney Motorsport was second to Quinn in Masters Cup as Antonio Basile completed the podium in hisElev8 Motorsports Euro GT.

Continuing his good run in Gold Cup, Matt Gooding for PCA/MGR Racing took the win ahead of Scott Dornan in the Action Line Marking Chevrolet Camaro and the Fight MND Ford Mustang of Jeff Watters.

Charlotte Poynting was 19th in the sole Woman’s Cup entry for Banlaw Fluid Asset Intelligence.

Two races complete the action tomorrow for Round 2 of the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series at Queensland Raceway commencing at 9:35am for the opener and 12:10pm for the final (all times AEST).

ASBK TV will livestream both races with coverage starting at 9:30am AEST.

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27