Joel Heinrich sets pole after dramatic Townsville qualifying

Osborn’s Transport driver Joel Heinrich has continued his pole position clean-sweep of this year’s Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series after setting the fastest time in qualifying at Townsville.

Leading the series entering the fourth round, Heinrich set a 1m 23.239s to score pole ahead of Rookie Cup leader Mason Harvey of Corish Motorsports by a remarkable 0.508s.

Head of Gold Cup Scott Dornan scored third in the Action Line Marking entry and will line up alongside last year’s dual winner at Townsville, Western Sydney Motorsport’s Cody Brewczynski.

Kody Garland was held up on his final qualifying lap, but will line up fifth for MTA NSW ahead of Adrian DiMauro in the Koan Solutions entry, leader in Masters Cup Kent Quinn in the Norganic Proteins Mustang, Johnston Craill Racing Enterprises driver Ryan Reynolds, Property Compliance Australia’s Matt Gooding and Guardian Interlock Services/Motorsport 25’s Reece Chapman rounded out the top 10.

Chapman encountered suspension trouble and was unable to set a lap time after the red flag came out halfway through the session following debutant Jacob Currie coming into contact with the wall at Turn 6 in the Precision International Aurion.

Heinrich’s teammate Bret Osborn also encountered problems.

Behind Harvey in Rookie Cup was Riskie Racing’s Joseph Andriske and Zac Schonberger in the Detour Coaches entry.

Cody Mckay and Western Sydney Motorsport’s Craig Thompson finished behind Quinn in Masters Cup.

Dornan continued to lead Gold Cup from Gooding and Andriske.

Completing an action-packed opening day in Townsville for the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series is Race 1 at 2:05pm AEST.

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27