Cody Brewczynski tops the early running at Bathurst

The Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series kicked off the on-track running for the Thrifty Bathurst 500 where Western Sydney Motorsport’s Cody Brewczynski led the way in practice.

Brewczynski set the pace in the sole practice of the weekend at a 2m 29.749s to head reigning series winner Joel Heinrich for Osborn’s Transport by 0.855s as CoolDrive Racing supported by Guardian Interlock Services driver Reece Chapman rounded out the top three.

Series returnee Kody Garland was fourth for MTA NSW from Anthony DiMauro in the Koan Solutions entry and Diesel Express driver Kyle Ensbey.

The Rookie Cup fight is guaranteed to be a close one as teammates Jordan Freestone and Mason Harvey as part of an expanded Corish Motorsports were split by 0.169s.

Previous series winner Josh Anderson joining Corish Motorsport this weekend and impressive rookie from last year Brandon Madden in the Riskie Racing entry completed the top 10.

Behind Freestone and Harvey in the Rookie Cup placings was Asher Johnston in the Johnston Craill Racing Enterprises entry in 17th.

Last year’s Masters Cup winner Kent Quinn continued his stranglehold at the top of the tree by placing 11th from the second Osborn’s Transport entry of Brett Osborn and rookie Johnston.

Scott Dornan was first in Gold Cup for Action Line Marking, but only just from Denis Butler in the Team Grand Racing/Butler Fabrication entry and debutant, Mable’s Emma Clark.

As it was the first time on-track for all competitors, many drivers completed actions including roading tyres and bedding in brakes ahead of the qualifying session to come at 10:30am before Race 1 at 2:25pm to feature live on Fox Sports and Kayo.

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27