A win for Cody Brewczynski in Darwin

Shell Rimula Topgun Race Team’s Cody Brewczynski has broken Joel Heinrich’s run at the top in Darwin by winning Race 3 of Round 4 for the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series at Hidden Valley.

Brewczynski made a perfect safety car restart to hold off Josh Anderson in the Team CoolDrive/Perenso Racing entry and Anthony Di Mauro snatched third from Heinrich on the line.

It was Cody Mckay getting the best jump off the front row alongside Adam Uebergang in the inverted top 10 Race 3.

Mckay held the lead until the leading Rookie Cup contender Scott Dornan took first place in a move under brakes at Turn 1 as the Action Line Marking Camaro was at the head of the field for just a lap before Uebergang made a similar pass a circuit later.

There was chaos at the back as Leslie Corish, Jeff Watters and Andrew Lorgelly were among the drivers to be involved entering Turn 5,while Masters Cup leader Kent Quinn spun exiting the hairpin.

However, the leading contenders scythed their way through led by Koan Solutions driver Di Mauro, Brewczynski, reigning series winner Anderson and current leader Heinrich.

The battle between Anderson, Di Mauro, Heinrich and Uebergang allowed Brewczynski to skip away slightly to the tune of 1.7s before a safety car was required as Denis Butler parked his Butler Fabrication/Team Grand Racing entry after encountering a mechanical problem.

A one lap dash, Brewczynski gunned it off the restart as Anderson, Uebergang and Di Mauro was the biggest loser as he was on the grass through Turn 4.

In the end Brewczynski took the win from Anderson, a covering Di Mauro pinched the final podium slot on the line alongside Heinrich, Team CoolDrive/Motorsport 25 driver Reece Chapman, Uebergang, Rookie Cup winner Brandon Madden, Nathan Williams, Kent Quinn was winner in Masters Cup ahead of Dornan.

The Rookie Cup was closely contested as Madden was just ahead of Williams and Dornan, while Quinn just led Scott O’Keefe in the MSS Group/O’Keefe Motorsport Mustang, with Grant Thompson for Western Sydney Motorsport taking third.

Gold Cup was taken out by the second Western Sydney Motorsport Mustang of Craig Thompson from Burton Tilt Panels driver Brendon Tucker and PCA/MGR Racing’s Matt Gooding.

The final race for the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series in Darwin will commence at 11:00am ACST/11:30am AEST.

No items found.
Go Back
2024 Schedule
Round 1
Bathurst 500
Supercars Championship
Feb 23-25
Round 2
Queensland Raceway
Australian Super Bike Championship
Apr 26-28
Round 3
Supercars Championship
May 17-19
Round 4
Townsville 500
Supercars Championship
July 5-7
Round 5
Symmons Plains
Supercars Championship
Aug 16-18
Round 6
Phillip Island Circuit
Australian Superbike Championship
Sep 7-8
Round 7
Gold Coast 500
Supercars Championship Championship
Oct 25-27