A ONE and a half second winning margin in race one of the final round of the Aussie Racing Car Championship Series for Trent Young may have looked impressive, but it was a tough tussle for the northern New South Welshman to score a first-up victory at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Young and his HBR Brake Reconditioning Nissan Altima had the battle the likes of pole sitter and initial race leader Peter Carr (Mako Sunglasses Ford Mustang), Adam Uebergang (Uebergang’s Euro GT), and Western Sydney Motorsport team mates Craig Woods (Mustang) and Blake Sciberras (Toyota Aurion) before gaining the winning edge.

The latter was putting in his strongest performance to date, grabbing the lead at the midway point. But just after passing Young, he locked up the front brakes and lost momentum at turn nine, and that allowed Young the gap he needed.

Sciberras ended up shadowing Wood and Carr across the line in fourth place, and ahead of Uebergang. In sixth place was Adrian Flack (A GAS National Euro GT) who gained the upper hand over Simon Smith (Ford Falcon) on the penultimate lap.

Series points leader Brendon Pingel (Spirit of Lockyer Holden Cruze) played the conservative roll, staying out of trouble to be placed eighth, but for Chris Stevenson (Hertz Altima), his title aspirations suffered a blow when he swiped the wall out of turn eight and caused right front damage.

In getting his crippled car to the pits, he inadvertently hit James Duckworth’s RDA Brakes Euro GT which recovered for tenth. Another to run into trouble was Kent Quinn (VIP Petfoods Cruze) who crashed at turn two on lap six, and checked up his dad Tony who was progressing from a rear-of-grid start.

Kent’s car remained stationary in the corner complex under local yellow flags for the rest of the race while Tony went on to 18th behind Mark Griffith (Euro GT), Scott Taylor (Mustang), Ben Walsh (Euro GT), Jeff Watters (Altima), the Falcons of Brendon Tucker and Adam Casuccio, and Craig Thompson.

Race One (9 laps)

1 Trent Young (Nissan Altima) 15:38.2241
2 Craig Woods (Ford Mustang) 15:39.7546
3 Peter Carr (Ford Mustang) 15:40.2715
4 Blake Sciberras (Toyota Aurion) 15:40.5256
5 Adam Uebergang (Euro GT) 15:42.8201
6 Adrian Flack (Euro GT) 15:45.0336
7 Simon Smith (Ford Falcon) 15:46.9373
8 Brendon Pingel (Holden Cruze) 15:47.2424
9 James Duckworth (Euro GT) 15:57.1065
10 Kel Treseder (Chev Camaro) 16:01.3269
11 Mark Griffith (Euro GT) 16:02.2551
12 Scott Taylor (Ford Mustang) 16:04.9825
13 Ben Walsh (Euro GT) 16:15.5253
14 Jeff Watters (Nissan Altima) 16:15.8467
15 Brendon Tucker (Ford Falcon) 16:18.2565
16 Adam Casuccio (Ford Falcon) 16:18.9285
17 Craig Thompson (Ford Mustang) 16:19.4861
18 Tony Quinn (Ford Mustang) 16:20.0939
19 Harley Haber (Ford Falcon) 16:29.0283
20 Allen Smith (Ford Falcon) 16:34.8013
21 Chad Chapman (Ford Falcon) 16:36.1559
22 Michael Rinkin (Nissan Altima) 16:47.4917
23 Grant Thompson (Ford Mustang) 16:55.0871
24 Darren Chamberlin (Chev Camaro) 16:57.7226
25 Ian Chivas (Nissan Altima) 17:18.0344
26 Robert Motbey (Nissan Altima) 17:18.7896
27 Leigh Bowler (Nissan Altima) 17:20.6444
28 Scott O’Keefe (Ford Falcon) 8 laps
29 Chris Stevenson (Nissan Altima) 8 laps
DNF Paul Rooks (Holden Cruze) 7 laps
DNF Kent Quinn (Holden Cruze) 5 laps
DNF Pawel Faber (Ford Falcon) 4 laps
DNF Ruth Bowler (Ford Coupe) 1 lap
Fastest lap: Craig Woods 1:43.1586 (New Lap Record)