AFTER SETTING the fastest time in qualifying Peter Carr will start from pole position for race one of the seventh and final round of the Aussie Racing Cars Championship Series at Sydney Olympic Park.

Driving his Mako Sunglasses Ford Mustang-bodied machine for the first time since the Sydney Motorsport Park round in August, Carr was near or on top throughout the session before putting in his fastest time of 1 minute 43.0004 seconds on the seventh of his nine laps.

Second fastest in the session went to Trent Young (HBR Brake Reconditioning Nissan Altima) who was 0.24secs off the pole time and three tenths up on the early pacesetter, Adam Uebergang in his Uebergang’s Euro GT.

Blake Scibberas (Western Sydney Motorsport Toyota Aurion) was second fastest when the end of the session ended but shortly after, his fastest lap was invalidated, dropping him to sixth behind Adrian Flack (A Gas National Euro GT) the winner of two races at the previous Phillip Island round. Craig Woods (Western Sydney Motorsport Mustang) copped a similar penalty but remained fourth fastest.

Current series points leader Brendon Pingel (Spirit of Lockyer Holden Cruze) was seventh quickest ahead Simon Smith (Ford Falcon) in his first round for the year, defending title holder Darren Chamberlin (Darryl Lea Stix Chev Camaro) and Chris Stevenson (Hertz Altima) was tenth fastest.

The top ten was covered by just 1.3 seconds and were followed by the Euro GTs of Ben Walsh, James Duckworth and Mark Griffith, with Kel Tressider (Camaro) and Scott Taylor (Mustang) 15th despite a reasonable tyre barrier encounter.

The qualifying session was red-flagged early on when Tony Quinn’s Mustang coasted to a halt on Dawn Fraser Avenue. He was on his sight lap and without completing a lap, should line up start last of the 33-car entry.

Coming into the final round and with double points at stake, Pingel is leading the series by 36 points over Stevenson with Uebergang third a further three points adrift in third.

Earlier in the day, the first practice session many ran the session without working transponders. Unofficially Woods was the fastest ahead of Carr and Chamberlin but the official times had Woods excluded along with 12 other, and Carr, Chamberlin and Young as the top three.

Qualifying Times

1 Peter Carr (Ford Mustang) 1:43.0004
2 Trent Young (Nissan Altima) 1:43.2405
3 Adam Uebergang (Euro GT) 1:43.5527
4 Craig Woods (Ford Mustang) 1:43.6640
5 Adrian Flack (Euro GT) 1:43.8719
6 Blake Sciberras (Toyota Aurion) 1:43.8830
7 Brendon Pingel (Holden Cruze) 1:43.9149
8 Simon Smith Simon Smith (Ford Falcon) 1:44.1051
9 Darren Chamberlin (Chev Camaro) 1:44.1163
10 Chris Stevenson (Nissan Altima) 1:44.3221
11 James Duckworth (Euro GT) 1:45.1710
12 Ben Walsh (Euro GT) 1:45.4021
13 Mark Griffith (Euro GT) 1:45.6025
14 Kel Treseder (Chev Camaro) 1:45.6472
15 Scott Taylor (Ford Mustang) 1:46.0198
16 Brendon Tucker (Ford Falcon) 1:46.4285
17 Craig Thompson (Ford Mustang) 1:46.7662
18 Jeff Watters (Nissan Altima) 1:46.9965
19 Kent Quinn (Holden Cruze) 1:47.2771
20 Paul Rooks (Holden Cruze) 1:47.3385
21 Allen Smith (Ford Falcon) 1:47.5774
22 Harley Haber (Ford Falcon) 1:47.6170
23 Adam Casuccio (Ford Falcon) 1:48.4003
24 Chad Chapman (Ford Falcon) 1:49.3393
25 Grant Thompson (Ford Mustang) 1:49.9451
26 Ruth Bowler (Ford Coupe) 1:50.9536
27 Pawel Faber (Ford Falcon) 1:51.1987
28 Robert Motbey (Nissan Altima) 1:51.3115
29 Ian Chivas (Nissan Altima) 1:51.4688
30 Leigh Bowler (Nissan Altima) 1:52.3003
31 Scott O’Keefe (Ford Falcon) 1:52.3956
32 Michael Rinkin (Nissan Altima) 1:53.0313
33 Tony Quinn (Ford Mustang) no time.