Below are the race reports from the first round of the Aussie Racing Car 2018 Championship at Baskerville Raceway in Hobart.  The Aussie Cars headlined the 60th celebrations of the Raceway.

Saturday Race One
Baskerville Raceway
Round One

Justin Ruggier (Western Sydney Motorsport) has taken the win in the Aussie Racing Car Championship in the first race at Baskerville Raceway this afternoon, Ruggier got the perfect start off the line to maintain the lead for the 12 Lap Race. His team mate Blake Sciberras Motorsport struggled off the line and dropped to mid pack by turn one.

Chasing down Ruggier was local racer Adam Gowans, he almost had the measure of Ruggier but ran out of laps, Gowans set his best lap time on the last lap of the race in the drying conditions.

Joel Heinrich Racing was third from Kel Treseder and Reece Chapmanrounded out the top five spots. Maddy Dunston was the first lady home in a creditable 9th position after starting out in 11th.

Race Two Saturday

Once again Justin Ruggier has taken control of the Aussie Racing Car field and lead from lights out to flag fall with the rest of the field chasing him down, Kel Treseder took the jump at turn one and two and muscled his way past Adam Gowans and Joel Heinrich to second place where he stayed for the balance of the race.

This left Heinrich and Gowans battling until lap four when Heinrich managed to pass Gowans the pair remained this way until the end. Blake Sciberrashad a much better start compared to Race One “I stuffed the start in Race One and I wasn’t going to do it again” he said after the event, Sciberras finished in fifth.

The first lady home was Charlotte Poynting making up for her DNF in the first race earlier in the day with 10th place in race two.

Race Two was run on a dry track and the Aussie Racing Car lap record which was held by James Ward of 0:58.1262 was cracked by the first two drivers with 57 second laps, Treseder now holds the race lap record of 0:57.9063.

Race Three (Reverse Grid – Top 10 only)
Baskerville Raceway

Race three was a hard fought full distance race that Kel Treseder won although he crossed the line in second place.

Blake Sciberras was penalised 30 seconds after passing under the yellow flag on the final turn where Brendon Tucker had become beached after a clash with Josh Anderson.  Second place went to Justin Ruggier with Adam Gowans in third.

Mid race Ruggier output a very quick lap which saw him almost a second under the lap record with a lap of the 2.1km circuit of 0:57.2743 the fast for the race.  Reece Chapman had an outstanding race managing to hold onto fourth spot when the leading bunch of cars gathered him in.  Emma and Adam Clark are sharing car #15 this year and Adam ran at Baskerville, in the three he had great race and ended up in 6th, one spot forward was Kyle Ensby.

Race Four

The final race of the event was mid afternoon at the Hobart circuit, and the weather had turned it on for the day, the dry track would prove perfect for Treseder’s first round win.

WOW; is how the local crowd have described the last Aussie Racing Cars race here at Baskerville Raceway. In one of the hardest fought races Kel Treseder has triumphed and won the first round for 2018.

Fortunes going into the race that saw Justin Ruggier leading the event plunged when the car broke a crank shaft with just two laps to go, “I need to finish second to take the round and I was there when the engine broke, I’m gutted but its racing, we’ll be fighting hard in round two at Philip Island” said Ruggier after the race.

Second for the round was Adam Gowans with Kyle Ensbey third.  In the final race Joel Hienrich finished second with Gowan’s home in third.  The race saw the field break up into two packs with the first 6-7 cars all fighting it out for the top of the podium.  After the chequered flag fell the cars grouped together in our traditional “salute” to the crowd and officials, in return the Hobart crowd cheered and clapped but more so they sounded their car horns from upon the hill, a great spectacle.

Maddy Dunston won the ladies trophy, Brendon Tucker took out the Gold Cup, Rookie went to Ensby and the Masters Cup was won by Adam Clark.

The Aussie Racing Car Salute