Below you will find the Tasmanian Super Sprint Race Reports from last weekend.

Visit the Gallery of Images on our Facebook Page

Races Three and Four – Round 3
Barbagallo Raceway
Sunday Wrap.

THREE RACE wins and a third has given Craig Woods the overall round three victory in the Aussie Racing Cars Championship Series at Barbagallo Raceway today.

Woods followed up his two Saturday victories with a third in the reverse top-eleven race three on Sunday morning and then fought back from third early to dominate race four.

He started his Western Sydney Motorsport KIA Penrith Mustang off pole in the last but was beaten away by Kel Treseder in his The Kart Centre Camaro.

“We swapped our tyres over from right to left for the last and before they could equalise, the car was difficult to steer in some corners,” Woods said.

“Once they settled, I found I could drive away as I did yesterday, helped with (Jaie) Robson and Ducky (James Duckworth) fighting over second place.

Treseder was also in that fight but coped some damage when they ran three-wide into turn 1 on lap eight.

“It damaged the left front and tore up the tyre,” he said after finishing fourth. “It made it difficult to turn right and slowed the car.”

Fifth went to race three winner Reece Chapman (Camaro) ahead of Blake Sciberras and Chris Stevenson (Camaro). Sciberras had contact with Travis Sharpe (Mustang) at turn 6 which resulted in a spin for the latter.

Finishing in ninth was guest driver Sheldon Creed in Bill Hynes’ Altima, the Stadium Super Truck driver had an absorbing dice with eighth-placed Kent Quinn (Mustang) and Brendon Tucker who finished 11th.

The race had an early safety car when Alex Barboutis (Mustang) was stranded on the start line and on the second last lap Ian Chivas bunkered his Altima at turn 7.

Race three featured two safety cars. The first for two of the Western Sydney Motorsport Mustangs (Sciberras and Grant Thompson) that broke tail shafts at the start.

Then when the race went green, Craig Thompson (Mustang) and Barboutis hit at turn 2 which put Thompson into the wall. It would be a busy interval for the WSM outfit with three cars to fix before race four.

Chapman gained the lead off Stevenson on lap seven and went on to win ahead of Treseder, Woods, Robson and Duckworth.

“It was an awesome result, and great to be able to hold off the quick guys and actually draw away in the end,” said Chapman.

Sharpe was next just in front of Stevenson with Stadium Super Trucks’ creator Robbie Gordon stepping into Hynes’ car and finishing eighth ahead of Charlotte Poynting (Camaro) and Michael Rinkin (Camaro).

Races One and Two – Round 3
Barbagallo Raceway
Saturday Wrap

THE OPENING pair of races in round three of the Aussie Racing Cars Championship Series could not have gone better for Craig Woods with wins in both.

Halfway through the round, the Mustang driver leads ahead of the Camaros driven by James Duckworth, Jaie Robson and Kel Treseder with the Mustangs of Blake Sciberras and Travis Sharp currently fifth and sixth.

Treseder made a cracking start to race one, coming off the second row and slipping past both Woods and pole sitter Duckworth. Robson also had a good lift-off, going from sixth to fourth ahead of Reece Chapman (Camaro), Craig Thompson (Mustang), Sciberras and Chris Stevenson (Mustang).

In the background, there was contact between Michael Rinkin (Camaro) and Jeff Watters (Altima), resulting in the former pirouetting at turn 1.

Woods looked for a way past Treseder, briefly seeing the front running spot on lap two before securing the position on the following circuit.

Woods consolidated the spot in the ensuing laps, until Kent Quinn had a rollover at turn 6 on lap eight in his Mustang. From there to the finish, the race was under the control of the safety car.

Behind the winner, Treseder maintained second ahead of Duckworth. Sciberras worked his way up the order to take fourth ahead of Robson, Sharpe and Stevenson.

At the start of race two, it was Treseder who won out and led Woods, Robson, Duckworth, Sciberras, Sharpe and Chapman the first time around.

Towards the end of the second circuit, Woods slipped past Treseder into the lead which he extended to 4.4 seconds (mammoth in Aussie Racing Car terms) by race’s end.

“That was probably because there was a group fighting for second position,” Woods said.

Robson relegated Treseder on lap four but was soon under pressure from Duckworth who eventually slipped by on lap ten and held onto to second for the remainder.

Sciberras passed Treseder for fourth in the latter stages while Sharpe won his dice with Chapman. Stevenson was next ahead of Alex Barboutis (Altima) and Charlotte Poynting (Camaro).

Craig Thompson (Mustang) finished 11th for the second time this weekend, this time ahead of Brendon Tucker (Camaro) and Grant Thompson (Mustang) who recovered from an early off at turn 7 that dropped him to 19th.

Round Three
Barbagello Perth
Friday Wrap

AFTER A thrilling Barbagallo Raceway qualifying session, current title holder James Duckworth has emerged fastest and will start race one of the third round of the Aussie Racing Cars Championship Series from pole position tomorrow.

Driving a new RDA Brakes Camaro-bodied Aussie Racing Car, Duckworth squabbled with Craig Woods (KIA Penrith Mustang) for the premier position and only cemented the spot in the dying moments of the session.

“I could see the big screen and that Craig had (personal best) green sectors, so I knew I would have to go faster,” Duckworth said. “Then on the last I just went all out, flat out where ever I could.”

Woods hit the top of the timing screens after the session resumed with seven and a half minutes to go, following a red flag situation. “I did my best time and then rolled out of it, thinking that it would be good enough,” he said.

The red flag came out when Michael Rinkin (Camaro) and Jeff Watters (Altima) spun off at turn one in unison with Rinkin ending up beached in the sand trap.

Third fastest for the session was Kel Treseder (The Kart Centre Camaro) ahead of West Australian Saloon Car driver (Travis Sharpe), Reece Chapman (Camaro) and round two winner Jaie Robson (Camaro).

Western Sydney Motorsport Mustang team mates Blake Sciberras and Craig Thompson will share the fourth row for the first race start ahead of the Camaros of Chris Stevenson and Brendon Tucker, Kent Quinn (Mustang) and 17-year-old local Alex Barbouts (Altima) in his category debut.

Earlier Woods had posted the fastest time in practice but lost the time due to a faulty dorian timer. Sciberras was officially given the provisional quickest ahead of Robson, Treseder and Chapman.