The penultimate 2016 Aussie Racing Cars Championship race meeting is this weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park, it’s also the final round to be held in Australia with the finale set to run in New Zealand at the revamped Hampton Downs circuit late October, with a non-championship race a week later at Pukekohe with the Supercars.

Yet another huge field will hit the track in Sydney, again confirming the Pocket Rockets are Australia’s biggest one make series.  40 entrants will be vying for the all-important championship points and places on the podium.  This weekend the series is one of the headline acts at the New South Wales State Motor Racing Championships, unlike the past 5 events the class won’t be with the Supercars this round, however it will be one of the busiest events in the country with almost 250 cars entered in 9 classes.

A big benefit for the Aussie Racing Car competitors is that they’ll be occupying the first 10 pit garages on pitlane, easy access for the fans plus right up there in the action.  And speaking of action SMP lends itself to the class, there are not many race classes that can brave two maybe even three wide into the infamous turn one!  And as they come up over the bridge four wide is a sight to be seen!

The 2016 championship is one of the closest seen to date, James Duckworth has a slim lead over Craig Woods of just 7 points and Woods holds off Kel Treseder by just 2 points!   One mistake could have a huge bearing on how the championship could unfold, so all the contenders will be looking for a good clean race meeting, and to get that you need to be out front of the pack from when the red lights go out, sounds easy but with so many cars on track it can get very real very quickly, door handle to door handle, nose to tail.  The class is very well known for close pack racing right throughout the field.

This weekend there will be plenty of images and race reports up on our Facebook page and via the website from our media team, and in addition to this we will be broadcasting live from the track on Facebook using the LIVE functionality, this will be from the pits and during the races too, so keep a close eye on the Facebook page Friday through Sunday.

The current championship standings are:

Outright – James Duckworth (196pts), Craig Woods (189pts), Kel Treseder (187pts)
Masters Cup – Grant Ludbey (200pts), Ben Walsh (198pts), Grant Thompson (189pts)
Gold Cup – Brendon Tucker (202pts), Glenn McNamara (198pts), Jeff Watters (197pts)
Rookies – Kel Treseder (202pts), Zac Best (192pts), Harley Haber (180pts)
Ladies – Emma Clark (200pts), Ruth Bowler (197pts), Charlotte Poynting (153pts)
Teams Champs – Western Sydney Motorsport (198pts), The Torque Team (196pts), Sean Rose Motorsport (195pts)